School Psychology Program

School Psychology at MU

Welcome to the School Psychology Program at the University of Missouri! Our School Psychology Program prepares graduates to work with children, youth, families, and educators to promote effective functioning in the areas of learning, behavior, and mental health. Operating from a problem solving framework, our focus is on preparing data-based decision makers capable of intervening to address both individual- and systems-level challenges.  Our coursework and field experiences emphasize the role that school psychologists play in prevention and early intervention, thus preparing our graduates to address problems at the earliest stages and increasing the likelihood of achieving the most favorable outcomes for the students and systems.  Students develop professional competencies in assessment, intervention, consultation, and research/evaluation. Content knowledge and professional skills are integrated throughout students’ training via course work and supervised practice in various academic and clinical settings.

The school psychology program offers two degree tracks:

  • The Doctoral Program typically requires five years of academic coursework, clinical practica, and research training beyond the bachelor's degree, including a culminating 2000-hour internship.  Graduates of the program have gone on to practice in schools and mental health settings, teach in universities, and serve in administrative positions in schools. Data about the time it takes to complete the degree at MU, estimated program costs, internships, attrition, and licensure can be found by clicking the link below.
  • The Educational Specialist Program typically requires three years of academic coursework and clinical practica beyond the bachelor's degree, including a culminating 1500-hour internship.  Graduates of the program are working throughout the country as school psychologists in school settings.

Faculty and Students

Our nationally respected, award-winning faculty include 8 core faculty (Drs. Matt Burns, Craig Frisby, Steve Kilgus, Melissa Maras, Cheryl Offutt (program coordinator), Wendy Reinke, Chris Riley-Tillman, and Kelly Schieltz), one affiliated research faculty (Dr. Lori Newcomer), and two affiliated clinical faculty (Drs. Connie Brooks and Andy Knoop).  In addition, 3 faculty from allied programs (Dr. Keith Herman – counseling psychology, Drs. Erica Lembke and Janine Stichter – Special Education) work closely with many of our students on research projects and are eligible to serve as doctoral advisors to students in our program.  Our vibrant, engaged student body currently includes 22 doctoral and 10 specialist students.

Accreditation and Credentialing

The Ph.D. program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Psychological Association (APA) and the National Association of School Psychologists. Questions related to the Ph.D. program's APA accredited status should be directed to the APA Commission on Accreditation.  Questions related to the program's NASP approval status should be directed to the NASP Program Review Board.   Both degree programs are approved by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and lead to certification as a School Psychologist in the state of Missouri. To be eligible for employment in states other than Missouri or for psychology licensure (Ph.D. level only), a greater number of courses and internship hours may be required.

APA Contact Information   

Office of Program Consultation and Accreditation
American Psychological Association
750 First Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 336-5979/Email:
Fax: (202) 336-5978

NASP Contact Information   

Program Approval Board
National Association of School Psychologists

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Office of Educator Quality
PO Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Telephone: 573-751-4212
Fax: 573-751-8613
TDD:  800-735-2966